Quinta da Lagoalva de Cima was purchased in 1834 by Henrique Teixeira de Sampayo, the First Count of Póvoa. When his daughter Maria Luisa Noronha de Sampaio married Domingos António Maria Pedro de Souza e Holstein, the Second Duke of Palmela, in 1842, their assets were incorporated into the House of Palmela. Throughout generations, Quinta da Lagoalva de Cima has remained in the possession of the descendants of the Second Duke of Palmela. The estate began as a stud farm raising Lusitano horses for carriages, leisure, bull fighting and dressage. The family’s commitment to wine dates back to 1888 and today the 45 hectares of vineyards are planted with the best Portuguese and international varietals expressive of its unique terroir.